top of page

Is Coffee Gluten Free?

Wondering "Is coffee gluten-free?" is something I don't think most people worry about. But coffee is actually something very common that can very easily not be gluten-free and get you sick without you knowing! Here is a list of tips to help avoid coffee that may contain gluten and some things to know about coffee too. Also, below you will find a gluten free coffee list of all the main producers and places that sell coffee.

Tips for avoiding gluten in coffee:

Be careful of coffees at work!

Most of the coffees in work offices are usually the cheap brands that are much more likely to contain gluten so be careful.

Cross contamination is the main cause of reactions from coffee!

A lot of restaurants / coffee houses have disclaimers stating that their is a chance of cross contamination when the coffee is brewed and cannot be controlled.

Buy ground coffee from stores instead of already brewed coffee from restaurants!

In coffee shops other products are sold like, donuts, bagels, muffins, etc. But when you buy ground coffee from the store it is individually packaged and has a far less chance of being cross contaminated with any other products.

Avoid the flavored coffees and stick to the originals you know will be gluten-free!

Many of the flavored coffees are the ones that are the most dangerous, especially the ones from gas stations, fast food, & some restaurants too. Stick to the simple ones and flavor yourself. It's much safer.

Coffee Shops

Caribou Coffee

All coffees are labeled gluten-free EXCEPT the ones listed below! There are also no disclaimers stating the chances of cross contamination related to gluten on their page.

  • All Chocolate Covered Espressos

  • Coffee Mocha

  • Caribou Coolers

  • Peppermint Flavored Coffee

Dunkin' Donuts

The only products that actually have gluten listed are the coffees containing Oreos. Although their coffees don't say they contain wheat, I called customer service to get more info. I was told there is a great chance of cross contamination when the coffee is brewed since it is made in the same area as all the other products. Depending on how sensitive you are to gluten, I would recommend staying away from Dunkin' Donuts.


All coffees, hot beverages, and cold beverages are labeled gluten-free EXCEPT the ones listed below!

  • McCafé Mocha

  • McCafé Hot Chocolate

  • McCafé Iced Mocha

  • McCafé Frappé Mocha

  • McCafé Frappé Chocolate Chip

There are no disclaimers on McDonald's nutritional page stating there is a chance of cross contamination. Based on their allergen website this is one of the best places if you're looking to get brewed coffee on the go!

Note: If you get the coffees listed above without the chocolate drizzle then it will be gluten-free.


Starbucks currently has their allergen info page unavailable, but I will add all the gluten-free products as soon as it's updated! So note that they do have a disclaimer - We cannot guarantee that any of our beverages are allergen free because we use shared equipment and handle allergens throughout the store.

Tim Hortons

All coffees, cold beverages, and hot beverages are labeled gluten-free Except their Brownie Iced Cappuccino Supreme.

Very important disclaimer - Due to the possibility of ingredient transfer that can occur in the production process at Tim Hortans, we recommend that anyone with a food allergy refrain from consuming any of our products. The welfare of our guests is our first concern and we are hopeful our recommendation will be accepted.

Coffee Producers

Eight O'Clock

Based on the ingredients and labels I read there is no gluten added to any of Eight O'Clock's products. There coffees have no additives and the only ingredient listed on their products are the coffee beans themselves. Also there are no disclaimers stating cross contamination problems with their products.


Full Disclaimer - All coffees are labeled gluten-free, additionally, our flavored coffee products may contain added ingredients that are not gluten free. - Our Folgers roast and ground coffee items are produced in a dedicated facility where no other types of agricultural crops are handled or processed; however, due to the use of common equipment within the agricultural community to harvest, store and transport crops, our roast and ground products may contain trace amounts of grain-based ingredients. All in all, Folgers should be fine, but if you are more sensitive I would recommend staying away from them.

Maxwell House

By reading each label and looking at the ingredients of each coffee, all there coffees are definitely gluten-free and have no additives. There are no disclaimers on there website saying they are made or produced in a facility with wheat; so Maxwell House is a very safe option too.


All coffees are labeled gluten-free and is actually known as one of the most dedicated natural coffee producers. Also to note, there are no disclaimers stating the likelihood of cross contamination within there coffee production. Nescafe is another safe option to go with for gluten-free coffee.

Note: If there are any other coffee producers you would like me to include on here please leave a comment to let me know. Thanks!

About Me
Photo May 14, 12 00 51 PM.jpg

I'm Taylor, a gluten-free guy with Celiac Disease, POTS, and a rare type of Adrenal Disorder. I overcame a lot during my teenage years and I'm on a journey to get the best out of my health (mentally and physically). Whether you're here for chronic illnesses or mental health; my goal is to share my story to help anyone feel happy & healthy in life. Read more...

Recent Posts
bottom of page