About Me

I'm Taylor, a gluten-free guy with Celiac Disease, POTS, and a rare type of Adrenal Disorder. I overcame a lot during my teenage years and I'm on a journey to get the best out of my health (mentally and physically). Whether you're here for chronic illnesses or mental health; my goal is to share my story to help anyone feel happy & healthy in life. Read more...

Follow me on Instagram
Recent Posts
Please reload

© 2019 by HaleLife Blog

  • Twitter Classic

What you should know about me!

"You can't control what​ happens to you in life but you can always control how you react to what life throws at you." - Taylor

My name is Taylor Miller and I'm a 22 year old guy who's always been passionate about helping others. People look at me and assume that I'm a normal person but little do they know about the invisible illnesses that lie underneath. Celiac Disease, POTS, and a rare adrenal disorder were just 3 of the major disorders I was sooo lucky (sarcastic font) to be diagnosed with at the age of 13 years old. On top of that I was told by doctors that I’d only have had 3 months to live...all this before even starting high school.

Everything that's been thrown my way at a young age has allowed me to overcome many more things in life. I've spent much of my life in and out of the hospital. I've learned what it's like to try and date with chronic illnesses. I've dealt with people who don't understand that my dietary restrictions are real and not just a fad diet. I'm living life as a young male who can't act his own age because of chronic illnesses. The bottom line is life is hard. Life's emotional. But life can certainly be more difficult when something keeps you from feeling your best.

My goal is to show everyone that, yes, living with dietary restrictions or invisible illnesses can be hard. However, you don't have to let it control your whole life. Your life is much more than that. I overcame my illnesses to start my own business at the age of 15 years old. I could have rolled over and let these chronic illnesses get the best of me but I didn't. I have a more positive outlook on life because I know my hardships have made me into who I am. With that being said...I hope to show that it certainly is possible to live a happy life with the right tools and the right mindset. It may not be easy, but being true to yourself is most important every step of the way.

I look forward to having you join me as I share all of the things with food, self-care, empowerment, invisible illnesses, and everything in between! 

Fun facts about me:

  • I live in Columbus, Ohio (Go Bucks)

  • I used to live in Saint Petersburg, Florida.

  • I've moved a total of 17 times in my life.

  • I own a pet ferret named Fury.

  • I came out as bisexual in July of 2018. I've been very open about it ever since.

  • My favorite cities I've visited are Portland, OR...Denver, CO...and Chicago, IL​. 

  • The city I want to visit the most is New York City.

  • I collect pens from every major city that I travel to...so far I have 32!

  • I love watching Hockey, College Football, and the NBA. Sports is my getaway!

  • My favorite show ever is Game of Thrones. I can't choose a favorite character.

  • I'm a strong supporter of equality and women's rights, because why would it be any other way?

  • I'm not a huge fan of sweets although I'd kill a man for some Rolos.

  • The food I miss the most since going gluten-free is garlic bread.

  • I have 7 tattoos which all have a different significance to me.

  • I started my own business at the age of 15 years old. (It was called GlutenAway...now it is HaleLife)

  • My mom and I own a gluten-free and vegan bakery in Clearwater, FL called HaleLife Bakery.

  • I play video games to relax and I've loved them since I was 13 years old.

  • I'm currently in a relationship and I'm looking to share more experiences with that soon!

  • Dogs are my favorite animal and pugs are just the funniest creatures to me.

  • I'm willing to talk about pretty much anything health related...and I've had too many conversations about poop with my gluten-free friends

  • I'm an only child but Erica Dermer from Celiac and the Beast is practically my sister. (We're not actually related but I call her my celiac sister and she's the coolest person I know...pictures below.)

  • My greatest passion comes from helping others by sharing my own hardships and experiences I've had in life.

 

About Me

I'm Taylor, a gluten-free guy with Celiac Disease, POTS, and a rare type of Adrenal Disorder. I overcame a lot during my teenage years and I'm on a journey to get the best out of my health (mentally and physically). Whether you're here for chronic illnesses or mental health; my goal is to share my story to help anyone feel happy & healthy in life. Read more...

Featured Posts

Celiac Disease - An 8 Year Transformation

February 12, 2019

1/2
Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Erica Dermer (Celiac and the Beast) + Myself Over The Years

Don't be a stranger! I love connecting with others and I'm always open to discussing anything! I'm young but I've certainly experienced a lot in the short years I've been on earth. I believe that we're all constantly working to feel our best self, both mentally and physically. We constantly cross paths with people who have lived all sorts of lives so I hope at the least that I can share my story and experiences to help you too. 

 

Live your best life,

Taylor

HaleLife taylor transparent.png